This Week's Free Lab Radio - Piercing Brightness by Shehzad Dawood

Still from Piercing Brightness

Poster: Piercing Brightness, based on one of the film characters
Writer and musician Kirk Lake has written a radio version of artist Shezad Dawood's UK film Piercing Brightness especially for Free Lab Radio tonight 11pm.

Piercing Brightness is a 2013 science fiction set in Preston, Lancashire directed by visual artist Shezad Dawood. 

Dawood chose to set the film, inspired by the sounds of Acid Mother's temple, in Preston as it is the place where more UFO sightings are reported in the whole of the UK.

Although the film was commissioned as a public art project, its starting point was Shezad’s longstanding interest in the music and the approach of Makoto Kawabata and Acid Mothers Temple. “All of my music is sounds that I hear from the cosmos - I just tune in and reproduce them,
like a radio receiver. I don’t think about my music. My daily struggle is to become a better, more faithful receiver.”

Dawood also states that he uses the approach of receiving’: 
"Feeling a place by listening, chatting, recording, reading, replaying, letting the brain put things in and out of order, layering, hiding and making explicit, distorting and laying bare" (Piercing Bightness sleeve notes).
The soundtrack to the film features Acid Mothers Temple, Mordant Music, Alexander Tucker and Decomposed Orchestra and Raed Yassin and Omar Dewachi. The sound Design was by Tom Drew and we feature a couple of remixes at the end of the show tonight by Acid Man, a previous guest of ours on ResonanceFM.

The album appeared in Nov '13 as a vinyl, limited at 540 copies with artwork on the inner sleeve, 40 of which had a unique signed, screen printed cover by Dawood. The Outer sleeve was 280gsm white reverse board with custom gold sticker, stamped and numbered by hand. Inner sleeve: 140gsm coated card, black and white printed with sleeve notes by Kate Parker and track listings to one side, and film stills to the other.

Listen in 11-midnight on 104.4FM across London or online otherwise

Side A: 18:29
Track 1.
01:13 Acid Mothers Temple and The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. ‘Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo (Part 1)’ (2008) duration 02:51 (original 1:05:15)
04:21 Mordant Music ‘Ghost Ship’ (2003) duration 02:17 (Original 09:45) - Previously released as a demo only

Track 2.
00:30 Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. ‘Interplanetary Love’ (2008) duration 03:40 (original 05:54 minutes)
03:41 Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. ‘Cometary Orbital Drive Suite (A) Light My Fire Ball’ (2008) duration 06:32 (original 12:50)

Side B: 19:51
Track 1.
00:08 Alexander Tucker & Decomposed Orchestra, featuring DCW Briggs and Mark Wagner. Recored live during the filming of Piercing Brightness (2011) duration 04:13 (original 06:19) - Previously unreleased
04:59 Raed Yassin & Omar Dewachi ‘Untitled’ (2011) duration 02:09 (original 03:16) - Previously unreleased
07:05 Mordant Music ‘Smasha’ (2004) duration 03:44 (original 04:45)
14:05 Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. ‘Pink Lady Lemonade - You’re From Inner Space’ (2011) duration 05:06 (original 20:39)

Side A: 6:54 ‘Glorious 100 Mix’
Side B: 6:39 ‘Automatic Extrication Mix’
Two versions mixed, mastered and cut by Radioactive Man include parts of Acid Mothers Temple ‘Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo’ and ‘Cometary Orbital Drive Suite (A) Light My Fire Ball’, Mordant Music ‘Smasha’ and Alexander Tucker & Decomposed Orchestra.

No comments: